All necessary preparations being finalised for sixth phase polling in Nadia

All necessary preparations being finalised for sixth phase polling in Nadia

Biswabrata Goswami

KRISHNAGAR, 20 APRIL: In view of the sixth phase polling to be held on 22 April, the Nadia district administration and Krishnagar police district have taken all necessary arrangements for conducting free and fair elections.

Inside Post Content (After X Paragraph)

In Nadia, nine assembly constituencies – Karimpur, Tehatta, Palashipara, Kaliganj, Nakashipara, Chapra, Krishnagar Uttar, Nabadwip and Krishnagar Dakshin will go to polls on Thursday.

Polling will be held between 7 am and 6.30 pm at 3072 polling stations and a total of 65 candidates will be vying for the nine assembly seats in the district.

Among the contestants, the BJP’s national vice president Mukul Roy, senior TMC leader and minister Ujjal Biswas and TMC film star candidate Koushani Mukherjee are in the fray.

Over 21.9 lakh voters including 10.6 lakh women and 33 third gender persons will decide the fate of these candidates.

The Nadia district magistrate Partha Ghosh said, “In view of the rising cases of Covid-19 in the district, wearing mask to get entry in the polling booths is mandatory for all voters. This apart, the special facilities will include sanitization of polling station, thermal checking of voters at entry point by polling staff or paramedical staff or an Asha worker. If temperature is above the set norms of the Health Ministry, then the elector will be provided with a token and asked to come for voting at the last hour of poll. At the last hour of poll, such electors will be facilitated for voting, strictly following Covid-19 related preventive measures.”

He also said that no gathering will be allowed within 200 meters from the polling station and more than five persons will not be allowed to assemble anywhere near the booth during the poll. On the day of poll, ferry services will be suspended. To conduct the poll peaceful, night patrolling is going on across the district, he added.

Biswarup Ghosh, SP, Krishnagar police district said, “A total of 163 companies of CRPF will be deployed in the nine assembly constituencies. This apart, 159 Quick Response Teams (QRTs) will be deployed during the poll day where 10 security officials including one section of CRPF, one state police and one company commandant will be provided for each QRT team. Adding to this, around 5000 state police persons will be deployed for security measures.”

According to officials, more than 14000 polling officials will be involved in the poll process. Among 3072 polling stations, 980 booths have been recognized as critical and 1566 booths will be covered under webcasting. Micro observers will be deployed at 486 booths, CCTV will be installed at 630 booths and video casting will be held at 390 polling stations.

The district magistrate said three civil officials, two sector officials and three zonal magistrates have been inflicted by coronavirus and they have already been replaced. Among the security forces, eight police persons from constable to inspectors have been tested positive for Covid-19 and they have also been replaced.

Share and Enjoy !

Below Post Content

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *