Discontent brewing in TMC over ticket distribution in Krishnagar

Discontent brewing in TMC over ticket distribution in Krishnagar

Biswabrata Goswami

KRISHNAGAR, 4 FEB: Soon after the Trinamul Congress secretary general Partha Chatterjee released the list of candidates for elections to 108 municipalities, a section of Trinamul Congress workers and leaders headed by the party’s Town president Sisir Karmakar in Krishnagar was seen jubilant.

Inside Post Content (After X Paragraph)

He took out a mini-rally accompanied by the party’s nominated candidates and organized a meeting with them in his office room at Post Office Mohr here this evening.

When asked, Mr Karmakar said, “The party’s leadership –Abhishek Banerjee, Mamata Banerjee, Subroto Boxi and Partha Chatterjee have selected the candidates after considering their organisational capacity, devotion to the party and ability to work for people. We will fight together in the election and can assure that our all candidates will win with huge margin.”

For the last few months, factional feud within the Trinamul Congress in Krishnagar has become a buzzword. To keep hold political domination in the municipality, two prominent groups – one group head by the minister Ujjal Biswas and the party’s North district president Jayanta Saha and other group headed by the party’s Town president Sisir Karmakar and former chairman of Krishnagar municipality Ashim Saha, got involved in verbal altercation while delivering speeches during meetings in different wards.

After watching the names of the candidates in the list, Karmakar-led group was apparently happy because most of the candidates belong to his group barring the name of Ashim Saha. On the other hand, Jayanta Saha group was seen unhappy but they didn’t express their displeasure publicly.

When asked, Mr Saha said, “Two or three names may be replaced in the list. The party will decide. But, whatever it may be, we will abide by the party’s selection.”  

Tags: #TMC #KrishnagarMunicipality #Candidates #Elections 

Share and Enjoy !

Below Post Content

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *