EC announces bypoll in Bhabanipur seat where Mamata Banerjee will contest

EC announces bypoll in Bhabanipur seat where Mamata Banerjee will contest

Hummingbird News Desk

KOLKATA, 4 SEP: The Election Commission of India (ECI) on Saturday announced that it will hold by-election in Bhabanipur Assembly constituency in West Bengal, from where chief minister Mamata Banerjee is expected to contest, on 30 September, while keeping bypolls to three Lok Sabha and 31 other Assembly seats pending.

Inside Post Content (After X Paragraph)

The polls will also be held on 30 September in Samserganj and Jangipur of West Bengal and Pipli (Odisha), which had been adjourned due to the death of candidates during the Assembly elections, were deferred due to the Covid-19 situation in May. The counting of votes will be done on 3 October, the ECI said.

The last date of nomination will be 13 September, and candidates will be able to withdraw their names till 16 September.

Miss Mamata Banerjee, who lost from Nandigram in May and is currently not an MLA, has time until November to get elected in order to continue as chief minister.

To assess the possibility of holding elections, the EC held a meeting with State officials on Wednesday.

The Chief Secretaries of Andhra Pradesh, Assam, Bihar, Haryana, Himachal Pradesh, Madhya Pradesh, Meghalaya, Rajasthan, Telangana, Uttarakhand, Uttar Pradesh and the adviser to Union Territory of Dadra and Nagar Haveli and Daman & Diu informed the EC of flood-related constraints, festivals and the COVID-19 situation, the EC statement said.

“They suggested that it would be advisable to have byelections after the end of the festive season,” it said.

Some States also informed the EC of the government as well as research bodies predicting a possible third wave of the pandemic in October.

The Chief Secretaries of Odisha and West Bengal, however, told the EC that the COVID-19 situation in their States were under control. The Bengal Chief Secretary also told the panel that the State was ready to hold elections and that the floods had not affected the poll-bound constituencies. The official also cited Article 164 (4) of the Constitution, saying that a Minister who is not an MLA for six consecutive months shall cease to be a Minister at the end of that period.

“He has also informed that in view of administrative exigencies and public interest and to avoid vacuum in the State, byelections for 159-Bhabanipur, Kolkata from where Ms. Mamata Banerjee, Chief Minister intends to contest, may be conducted,” the EC said.

It said it had decided not to hold bypolls in the 31 Assembly seats and three Lok Sabha seats after considering the inputs of the Chief Secretaries and Chief Electoral Officers of those States.

Tags: #ElectionCommission #ECI #Bhabhanipur #Bypolls #MamataBanerjee

Share and Enjoy !

Below Post Content

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *