Free polls not possible with a biased Election Commission, says Trinamul Congress

Free polls not possible with a biased Election Commission, says Trinamul Congress

Hummingbird News Desk

KOLKATA, 19 MARCH: A delegation of Trinamul Congress leaders met the Election Commission on Friday to submit a memorandum against three alleged decisions taken by the poll panel ahead of the state elections.

Inside Post Content (After X Paragraph)

Mr Yaswant Sinha who joined the party last Saturday accompanied the TMC MPs Saugata Roy, Md Nadimul Haque, Pratima Mondal and Mahua Moitra.

In a memorandum submitted to the EC, the delegation described the commission’s approach has partisan and biased and said free, fair and transparent elections are not possible in West Bengal in such circumstances.

In a letter, they stated that free and fair and transparent elections are not possible in West Bengal and is a distant reality.

The letter stated that as per media report, no state police will be allowed within 100 metres of polling booths. If this is true, this is an unprecedented move on the part of ECI and an aspersion on the role of state police of West Bengal.

The letter also stated that ECI is will fully doing it only for West Bengal whereas election is conducted three more states and a Union territory.

The MPs demanded that ECI must withdraw the order immediately before the first phase of election on 27 March.

They also demanded that 100 percent VVPATs and EVMs should be checked thoroughly which in many instances the officers on poll duty are summarily dismissed.

The MPs urged that on the polling day, the polling officers should verify 100 percent EVMs along with VVPATs.

Meanwhile, Derek O’Brien and state minister of women and child empowerment met CEO regarding Suvendu Adhikary’s dual voter identity – one in Nandigram and one in Haldia.

They also demanded security for Trinamul workers who were attacked by BJP officers.

Meanwhile, Trinamul Congress today declared change of candidates in four Assembly segments- Kalyani, Ashokenagar, Amdanga and Dubrajpur.

The two time sitting MLA  of Kalyani , Dr Ramendranath Biswas  was replaced by his son Aniruddha Biswas.  In Ashokenagar assembly constituency, two times MLA Dhiman Roy was changed and Zilla Parishad  Purtya Karmyadakshya Narayan Goswami and the sitting MLA Rafiqul Rehaman  was made candidate of Amdanga.Earlier, Trinamul Congress  fielded in  former Forward Bloc minister Murtuzza Hossain from Amdanga.

In Dubrajpur, Debabrata Saha was made the new candidate.

Image Courtesy:

Share and Enjoy !

Below Post Content

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *