Krishnagar: Kallol Khan releases final list of candidates for Krishnagar municipal polls, Ex-chairman Ashim Saha nominated

Krishnagar: Kallol Khan releases final list of candidates for Krishnagar municipal polls, Ex-chairman Ashim Saha nominated

Hummingbird News Desk

KRISHNAGAR, 6 FEB: In a dramatic move, the former chairman of Krishnagar municipality, Ashim Saha has been nominated as the Trinamul Congress candidate from ward number 10 in place of Uttam Saha, who was fielded as a candidate in the revised list of candidates for Krihsnagar municipality election sent by the party’s secretary general Partha Chatterjee.

Inside Post Content (After X Paragraph)

Mr Saha, whose name was not seen in the party’s candidate-list, was finally announced by the party’s election observer-cum-MLA Kallol Khan yesterday.

Discontent brewed up soon after a separate list of candidates went up on the party’s website at the same time the official list was being released at a press conference. Spotting the goof-up, the TMC leadership issued a statement saying that the list uploaded on the portal and the party’s Facebook page wasn’t approved by its chairperson Mamata Banerjee.

Nearly three hours later, Mr Chatterjee told mediapersons that the party won’t publish a revised list of candidates. The final list was subsequently sent to the party unit presidents of the poll-bound districts.

In the final list which was circulated among the leaders, Mr Saha’s name was not seen, but within hours, Mr Saha’s name was announced as a candidate in place of Uttam Saha by the MLA Mr Khan.

For the last few months, factional feud within the Trinamul Congress in Krishnagar has become a buzzword. To keep hold political domination in the municipality, two prominent groups – one group headed by the minister Ujjal Biswas and the party’s North district president Jayanta Saha and other group headed by the party’s Town president Sisir Karmakar and former chairman of Krishnagar municipality Ashim Saha, got involved in verbal altercation while delivering speeches during meetings in different wards.

After watching the names of the candidates in the list, Karmakar-led group was apparently happy because most of the candidates belong to his group barring the name of Ashim Saha. On the other hand, Jayanta Saha group was seen unhappy but they didn’t express their displeasure publicly.

Here is the list of TMC candidates :

          Ward No               Name of Candidate
                   1             Rajendra Prasad Biswas
                   2             Sumitra Biswas
                   3             Milan Ghosh
                   4             Amitava Sukkul (Sajal)
                   5             Arpita Chakraborty
                   6              Biswajit Bagchi
                   7              Goutam Malakar
                   8               Pragati Chowdhury
                   9               Rita Das
                  10               Ashim Saha
                  11               Pratima Pramanik
                  12               Pradip Dutta
                  13               Sisir Karmakar
                  14               Suparna Sarkar
                  15               Naresh Chandra Das
                  16               Abhijit Ghosh
                  17               Mamoni Ghosh
                  18               Dr Abul Hossain Biswas
                  19               Sougata Krishna Deb
                  20               Mithu Ghosh
                  21                Bulbul Sarkar
                  22                Somnath Dutta
                  23                Subhasree Das (Biswas)
                  24                Prakash Das
                  25                Palash Das

Tags: #KrishnagarMunicipality #AshimSaha #KallolKhan

Share and Enjoy !

Below Post Content

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *