Mamata Banerjee secures huge victory over BJP rival in Bhawanipore by-election

Mamata Banerjee secures huge victory over BJP rival in Bhawanipore by-election

Hummingbird News Desk

KOLKATA, 3 OCT: West Bengal Chief Minister Mamata Banerjee won the Bhawanipore bypoll on Sunday by a record margin of 58,832 votes against her nearest rival Priyanka Tibrewal of the Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP). This victory makes Miss Banerjee a member of the West Bengal Legislative Assembly and will allow her to continue as Chief Minister of West Bengal.

Inside Post Content (After X Paragraph)

Previously Miss Banerjee had the record of winning from this constituency by a margin of 54,213 votes in 2011.

In the last Assembly polls, Miss Banerjee had contested from Nandigram and lost to BJP’s Suvendu Adhikari by a margin of 1956 votes. She was, however, unanimously elected Chief Minister by the Trinamul Congress legislature party in May, 2021.

After 21 rounds of counting, Miss Banerjee secured 84,709 of the total 1,17,875 votes, securing more than 71 per cent of the total votes polled while Tibrewal secured 26,350 votes, little more than 22 per cent of the votes. CPI-M candidate Shreejib Biswas managed to get only 4,201 votes.

“I am indebted to the people to Bhawanipore because they helped me win with a record margin. The most interesting thing is we didn’t lose in any of the ward. The polling in Bhawanipore has always been low and there was rain. Despite that people came out in numbers and gave us votes,” Chief Minister who was flanked by All India Trinamul Congress General Secretary and his daughter said.

“There was a lot of conspiracy against us and the people of Bhawanipore have given the answer. When we won in all the seats, we lost in Nandigram. The matter is subjudice and so I shall not say more,” she said adding, “I shall not show victory signs raising two fingers. I am not selfish. Two of my colleagues are contesting from Jangipur and Samserganj and so I shall raise three fingers. They are also leading and blessing them so that they can win”.

Speaking to the media state transport minister Frihad Hakim who was also instrumental in facilitating the victory of the chief minister said, “I had no doubt about her win. It was my curiosity to see whether she can win with a margin of more than 50,000 votes and she did that”.

“It is a victory for the people of Bhawanipore. It is a victory of the people of West Bengal. It’s an answer to the way she was treacherously defeated in Nandigram. People have taken revenge. They have shown that Mamata Banerjee cannot be stopped in this way. She will become the prime face against BJP nationally and that is the verdict of the people,” Hakim said.

Meanwhile Mamata Banerjee announced the names of the candidates for the three of the four assembly constituencies that are going for the by-elections on 30 October. “Our candidate from Khardha will be Sovondeb Chattopadhyay, for Santipur in Nadia the candidate is Brajakishore Goswami and for Dinhata in Coochbehar the candidate will be Udayan Guha. The chief minister said that the name of the candidate for Gosaba in South 24 Parganas is yet to be decided.

Sovondeb Chattopadhyay who won from Bhabanipur by a margin of 28,189 votes in the assembly election resigned to make room for Mamata Banerjee. Miss Banerjee who lost to Suvendu Adhikari in the assembly election had to win within six months to retain her position as the chief minister of the state.

In two other constituencies – Jangipur and Samserganj the Trinamool Congress candidates have maintained their lead. Jakir Hossain who is contesting from Jangipur assembly constituency is also leading by a margin of 57,935 votes after the sixteenth round of counting. Trinamul Congress candidate from Samserganj Amirul Islam is also leading by a margin of 17,863 votes after the fourteenth round of counting.

Later, in a press release Trinamul Congress announced the names of candidates who will contest the four Assembly constituencies. Accordingly, Subrata Mondal will contest from Gosaba.

West Bengal BJP president Sukanta Majumdar also congratulated Miss Banerjee on her victory. Mr. Majumdar said that only 57 % voters had exercised their franchise at Bhawanipore and also thanked the voters who voted for the BJP at Bhawanipore.

The BJP candidate Priyanka Tibrewal while reacting to the resounding victory of Mamata Banerjee said, “I am ‘Man of the Match’ of this game because I contested the election in Mamata Banerjee’s stronghold and got more than 25,000 votes. I will continue doing the hard work.”

Tags: #MamataBanerjee #BJP #Bhawanipore #Byelection #PriyankaTibrewal

Share and Enjoy !

Below Post Content

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *