Mamata names Firhad Hakim as next Mayor of KMC, asks councillors to submit report card after every six months

Mamata names Firhad Hakim as next Mayor of KMC, asks councillors to submit report card after every six months

Soma Mookherjee

KOLKATA, 23 DEC: West Bengal chief minister Mamata Banerjee once again nominated Firhad Hakim as the Mayor of the Kolkata Municipal Corporation (KMC). She also nominated Atin Ghosh as deputy Mayor and Mala Roy as chairperson.

Inside Post Content (After X Paragraph)

Addressing the party leaders and newly elected councilors at Maharashtra Nivas, Trinamul Congress supremo Mamata Banerjee today asked the newly elected councillors that they would have to submit report cards to her after every six months.

“I’ll seek reports of your progress in your respective wards after every six months. Don’t think that you are elected for five years and will face the election only after five years. If your work is not satisfactory both government and my party will take action against you,” said Miss Banerjee.

However, she clarified, “I am not admonishing you but I am introducing report cards to enhance the quality of works.”

She asked her councillors to begin cleaning of their respective wards of elections’ banners and hoardings from today and she also asked them to repair potholes. “If necessary you have to repair road properly. It’s your duty to make your ward clean. You have to look after drainage system, repair roads, beautify the area and also ensure to check malaria, dengue and Covid patients, do proper sanitisation,” she said.

After congratulating all 134 newly elected councillors of her party, Miss Banerjee asked whether everyone is satisfied with her decision. She welcomed the Opposition councillors.

She also asked Subrata Bakshi, to involve those seven candidates who lost in the KMC poll in some works and also Ratan Dey should be absorbed in some work as he is old timer and did not contest the election.

In case of three independent candidates, she said, “Though they want to join Trinamul Congress, I will ask the party not to induct them right now.”

She said, “Duare Sarkar and Paray Paray samadhan will start from January and councillors will have to take active part in it.”But don’t bring unnecessary people to the camp to show your importance,” she cautioned.

She also asked the councilors to maintain restraint and not to go to the Press at a drop of a hat like BJP and CPI-M.” If you have to contradict them asked the party and the party spokesperson will speak.” she said.

She declared the names of Deputy Mayor- Atin Ghosh, and Members-Mayor-in-Council (M-MIC) are Debasish Kumar, Tarak Singh, Debabrata Majumdar, Swapan Sammadar, Sandip (Babu) Bakshi, Amiruddin Bobby, Mitali Banerjee, Sandipan Saha, Abhijeet Mukherjee, Baiswano Chatterjee, Ram Pyare Ram, Jiban Saha.

Of the 16 Borough chairpersons, Mamata Banerjee this time inducted nine women. They are 

Tarun Saha (Borough 1), Shukla Saha (Borough2), Anindya Kishore Raut (Borough 3), Sadhana Bose ( Borough 4), Rehena Khatoon ( Borough 5), Sana Ahmed (Borough 6), Sushmita Bhattacharjee (Borough7), Chaitali Chatterjee (Borough 8), Debalina (Borough 9), Jui Biswas (Borough 10), Tarakeshwar Chakraborty(11), Sushanta Ghosh (Borough 12), Ratna Sur (Borough 13), Sangeeta Das(14), Ranjeet Songh (15) and Sudip Polle (Borough 16).

Tags: #MamataBanerjee #FirhadHakim #Mayor #KMC #ReportCard

Share and Enjoy !

Below Post Content

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *