Six Trinamul Congress leaders to meet EC  today over holding by-polls in seven assembly constituencies

Six Trinamul Congress leaders to meet EC today over holding by-polls in seven assembly constituencies

Hummingbird News Desk

KOLKATA, 14 JULY: Six Trinamul Congress MPs both from Rajya Sabha and Lok Sabha will meet the Election Commission of India tomorrow.

Inside Post Content (After X Paragraph)

Trinamul Rajya Sabha MP and party’s national spokesperson Derek O’ Brien, Rajya Sabha MP and party’s chief whip in Rajya Sabha Sukhendu Shekhar Roy, Leader of Trinamul Parliamentary Party in Lok Sabha, Sudip Bandopadhyay, DumDum MP Saugata Roy, Barasat MP Kakoli Ghosh Dastidar and Lok Sabha chief whip Kalyan Banerjee will meet the Election Commission regarding the holding of by-elections in seven Assembly constituencies two of which are due since general Assembly election.

The constituencies are Bhwanipore, where chief minister Mamata Banerjee will contest as she will have to win within six months to retain her chief minister ship.

The six other constituencies are Kardha, where the Trinamul candidate Kajal Sinha who later declared  winner but passed away due to Covid just before the results were published. 

The other constituencies are Jangipur and Shamshergunj in Murshidabad district where a Congress and RSP candidates passed away due to Covid and elections cannot be held in April 2021.

In Gosaba, the sitting MLA Jayanta Naskar recently passed away. In Shantipur (Nadia) and Dinhata (Cooch Behar) the BJP MPs contested the Assembly poll but after winning the Assembly poll they decided to remain as MP and the MLA seats in these places remain vacant.

Meanwhile, DumDum MP Saugata Roy today lashed out at the Centre for promulgating ordinances against the labours of Ordinance Factory. He said in wake of corporatization of the Ordinance factory, labours have declared strike but by promulgating ordinances the Centre has declared that going for strike is punishable offence and may be jailed for two to three years and those who will instigate or fund a strike would also be punished.

Tags: #TMC #ElectionCommission #bypoll #AssemblyConstituency

Share and Enjoy !

Below Post Content

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *