TMC files nominations of 23 candidates, CPM -17 for Krishnagar municipal elections

TMC files nominations of 23 candidates, CPM -17 for Krishnagar municipal elections

Hummingbird News Desk

KRISHNAGAR, 7 FEB: A total of 23 out of 25 candidates of Trinamul Congress on Monday filed their nomination papers before the sub-divisional officer in Krishnagar for Krishnagar municipal elections.

Inside Post Content (After X Paragraph)

Two candidates – Naresh Chandra Das from ward no. 15 and Malay Dutta from ward no. 12 could not file their nominations as they didn’t resign from their posts as chairman and vice-chairman of the administrative board respectively.

Mr Sisir Karmakar, TMC Town president said, “The duo will submit their nominations on Wednesday.”

It is hearsay that Mr Das may not file his nomination because he belongs to the party’s ruling lobby headed by the party’s Nadia North district president Jayanta Saha.

Mr Saha and his group were unhappy on the list of candidates released by the party where most of the nominated candidates belong to the group of Mr Karmakar.

The party insiders said Mr Saha is the follower of Mr Abhishek Banerjee while Mr Karmakar follows chief minister Mamata Banerjee.

Soon after the release of the list of candidates, Mr Saha, the party insiders told this correspondent, went to Mr Abhishek Banerjee to revise the list. On hearing this, Mr Karmakar asked the candidates to file their nominations today instead of Tuesday and accordingly the candidates accompanied by their followers rallied to the Collectorate office this morning and submitted their nominations. A colourful rally was organized where the candidates altogether took part in the rally.

Meanwhile, the CPI-M candidates have also submitted their nominations. A total of 17 CPI-M candidates (many of them are Red Volunteers) submitted nomination papers before the SDO, Krishnagar. This apart, a RSP candidate and one Independent candidate have filed their nomination papers.

The CPI-M also filed nomination for Nabadwip and Kalyani municipality elections. A total of 18 CPI-M candidates filed nomination papers for Nabadwip and 12 candidates for Kalyani municipal election.

Meanwhile, as many as 20 Trinamul Congress candidates filed their nomination papers in Ranaghat.

According to the district election officer, a total of 94 candidates have filed their nominations across the district.     

Tags: #TMC #CPM #MunicipalElections #Krishnagar

Share and Enjoy !

Below Post Content

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *